Tuesday, December 20, 2016

Review Hub - Star Wars

From its initial theatrical run in 1977, Star Wars has captured the imaginations of many across multiple generations. The popularity of the Star Wars brand has led to the creation of a true juggernaut of a franchise, spanning across several films, TV shows, comic books, video games, action figures and more, with no end to it in sight. After being acquired by Disney, the release of new Star Wars movies began to pick up the pace, adding more material for contributors to the ever-expanding Star Wars universe to build off of.

A rather divisive subject in the fandom, Prequel Trilogy not withstanding, is the existence of a number of different Special Editions for the 6 films franchise creator George Lucas had a hand in developing, each one overriding the previous one and making the original theatrical release more elusive each time; we at this blog choose to stay as close to the original theatrical cuts as possible, going off of the VHS and Limited Edition DVD releases. Though some members of this blog enjoy the occasional Star Wars tie-in, we choose to only count the movies and the 2003 Clone Wars cartoon as our personal canon for the sake of simplicity.

Below is a list of every Star Wars film we have reviewed up to this point, presented in approximate chronological order and separated by Trilogy. Additional review links will be added as more items of personal interest are released and reviewed.

Update (12/18/2017): Added Episode VIII: The Last Jedi, The Force Unleashed II
Update (5/27/2018): Added Solo: A Star Wars Story
Update (12/22/2019): Added Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker
Update (5/7/2021): Added Episode I: The Phantom Menace, Episode II: Attack of the Clones, Episode III: Revenge of the Sith, Clone Wars Second Look, Episode I: Racer
Update (5/12/2021): Added Racer Revenge
Update (5/6/2022): Added The Force Unleashed and The Force Unleashed II, The Force Awakens, The Last Jedi and The Rise of Skywalker Second Looks

Prequel Trilogy


Star Wars: Clone Wars (2003) (Second Look) [Released on home video as two features.]

Anthology Films


Original Trilogy


Star Wars [Episode IV: A New Hope] (1977) [Original theatrical cut]
Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back (1980) [Original theatrical cut]
Episode VI: Return of the Jedi (1983) [Original theatrical cut]

Sequel Trilogy


No comments:

Post a Comment